top of page

Week 2

I'm in work mode now, churning out pirate concepts like a naughtically obsessed cabin boy. I'm really enjoying this project so far, its great to just draw every day knowing I don't have to interpret the drawings into poorly modelled and hastily textured 3D characters.

Here are some of the pirates I have done this week. I think i'm ok time wise, I am averaging almost a character a day, so I should have all 12 by the end of the 3rd week (including the vehicle.)

I wanted to have a navigator in the team and I thought it would be cool if he had a coke can on his back for support. I think this was a good direction to push my characters in and I will definitely try to go further with the other pirates.

Following some feedback I decided to research some different types of pirates, so I have been trying to introduce some less conventional shape language into the characters. One thing I think I should change about the female pirate above is her pet moth as it doesn't really read properly at the moment.

Also been thinking about fmp a little more, but not got much to say about it. I found this dragon ball fan art. I really like the mood and character design here, something to think about introducing into my own work...

https://www.behance.net/gallery/28406743/Hell-keep-an-eye-on-us


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page