top of page

FMP: Week 13-14

I've been re-designing some things I didn't like recently, this has made me more confident and I am really glad I was able to allocate time for this. I've mainly been reworking Putro as I was never really happy with his design.

I do like some aspects of it though, the horns and purple robes I think work for a villain but the shape language is definitely not strong enough in my opinion. I wanted to base him off an apple core (like his lair.) But I didn't exaggerate his forms enough to really get this across.

I also wanted him to have a bit more character than just an emotionless skull for a face. I looked at skeletor from He-Man cos I always kinda liked his design as a kid.

Here's the new design for him as well as some more development for his lair:

The above design started as a 3d model of putros throne. I jumped straight into this design and ended up paying the price for it as I wasnt happy with how it turned out. I wanted his environment and design to reflect his evil character and this was a little too plain for my liking.

The other version works a lot better and is a lot more in line with his design I think.I tried to mimic the shape language from the character into his environments.

I think I will use this as a promotional print or maybe even a business card. I think having an eye catching character on a card works well and would make a more memorable business card than just something with my name on it.

I'm a lot happier with how he looks now, I think having a more animated and goofy villain is more suitable with the colourful and heavily stylized look of the rest of the book.


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page