top of page

Week: 5

Evil Characters

so from last week's lapse of creativity I have gotten a little more on track with concepting Emperor Putro and his minions this week. I have had loads of fun with these characters so far and I think they really work in the Golden Pear universe.

Ok now that I'm looking at it while writing this I kind of want to do more development for Putro's design. I think the Pink light works well and is a design choice I will be adding to some of the other evil characters to make them all read as evil characters. I will try and add something into the story that explains the pink evil light but I have a looooot of work to do at the moment.

Im working on some interiors at the moment, kind of like the ones I posted over the last few weeks but without 3D as a base. It is making it a lot harder but being restricted to having to use 3D for every interior concept would take too long. Actually I just finished one of them up so it's below now. B/W works better than I thought too.

The 'good' city is Pera which is green and round so I tried to base Putro and his lair off of an apple core to kind of be the opposite shape language of the good characters. Actually Putro means decay in Latin.

Also skeletons always read as dead/evil so I thought they would be good enemies for this project.

I think putting a little thought into my character designs makes them a lot better instead of just jumping head fist into a design and going with the first one that works.


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page