top of page

Nano Pirates hand in.

Research:

This image of female athletes was great reference for designing different sized pirates with different roles in the team. I also used it as reference for some of the poses that I painted my characters in.

This is the moodboard I made before I started the project to help get things going, I didn't spend long gathering these images but they served as a good starting point for the project.

Process:

Here are some of the early sketches I knocked up during the first stages of the project. I started drawing the pirates heads. Starting with the head when designing a character can be very helpful as it helps you nail their personality before getting bogged down in the construction of the character.

These images showcase the process I used for all of the pirates. I started either with a line drawing or a simple value sketch like the one below. I have concluded that the below method is both faster and easier for me to follow and was a great way to approach a large number of characters.

Characters:

All 12 characters and the final image with all characters in it.

The final shot I think ties up the project quite well, as you can see all the characters and how they relate to eachother, instead of just by themselves on a canvas.

Vehicle and logo:

This is the final concept of the pirate vehicle, it is meant to be a cooking pot that they have converted into a kind of flying/sailing vehicle. I tried to design it within the same style as the pirates.

The logo I made for it just makes the final images look a little more professional when presented on a blog or website.


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page