top of page

Week 6

Same story as before. Crazy busy but really loving the work. I was talking to a friend recently who does Psychology and Philosophy and it really made me realize how lucky I am that I don't have to write 1,000,000,000,000 word essays and make bar charts. I spend my time plotting out fantastical cities based around giant water wheels instead!

With the Dwarven city finished, I wanted to tone the fantasy element down a little (just a little though.) The next city I am working on is a Human city.

I spent longer than I usually would thinking and figuring out how the city could work and function. This really paid off, as this is the most interesting and original city I have designed so far.

I made this really quick 3D model to paint over. I made it really big so I can pan around it in 3DS max to see it from any angle and then screen shot that if I think it looks cool.

some sketches I did when figuring out how the city could work.

I wanted the water wheel to be the focus of the city. I used a trick a lot of concept artists use to make a seemingly 'fresh' concept. Take something that already exists and make it really, really big.

This process of basin gthe concepts on ideas that could work felt so fresh, rather than approaching it like I had done with the other two cities, where the motive was just 'make a city that looks cool'.

I am definitely going to approach my other projects like this instead when possible.

One more city to go!


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page