top of page

Week 7

A little overhang this week, catching up over the weekend with the fourth city from the last project. I decided to with a sewer themed city. I thought it could be made up of trash and waste flushed out from the other three cities.

While i like the idea, I don't think I spent anywhere near enough time concepting and sketching before I jumped into this one. The giant turtle shell at the top of the tower doesn't read properly and I don't think there is enough diversity in the buildings... ahh well, movin onto different things.

Next project I wanted to try my hand at was the stylized game icons one. I have had experience doing UI in the past for a freelance job which I really enjoyed. It's quite far removed from character and environment design, but still involves a lot of important artistic skills like composition and colour theory.

Anyway I started with some research into what makes a good icon. These were the coolest ones I could find.

I really love how simple some of them are but how they still communicate the meaning of the achievement icon. Something I realize now looking at them again is the limited colour palette they implement. Something to consider!

I thought I could do the icons for a survival game, probably on mobile. I also wanted to have a little humour present in them too like the TF2 icons. Here are some of the sketches I have so far.

I have just started painting these, along with some others, I will probably have the first 10 completed for next week.

Also, new FMP idea, I've been loving Anthony Holden's work recently, he has such a nice design sense in his characters that I really want to implement in my own work.

Heres his work: http://anthonyholden.tumblr.com/

I was thining to do some kind of visual development project based around a little team of characters who are on a quest to retrieve something (probably from an evil witch).

This would mean creating characters, environments, storylines, maps ect...


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page