top of page

Brand UI Hand in.

Research:

I chose the UI project to have a change from intensive character/environment work and to try something new. I have some experience with UI design in the past and developed some for my OTM project. I really enjoy UI design as its just so different from other concept art. It is also very important, as its what all the game users will seewhen they play the game.

I will be putting the individual TGA files on the K:drive under 'Brand UI'.

I began by researching mobile Icons and the kind of composition they use in order to look striking and user friendly.

I thought these survival icons looked great. They're simple but remain obvious to the viewer what they are conveying.

I thought the team fortress ones looked good too, they have a sense of humour and have all the unique characters within them. These were great reference, but I ended up persuing a different art style for both games.

Game One:

The first game 'Don't Die' I imagined an isometric survival game where the player takes the role of a cub scout lost in the woods and is tasked with the objective of not diying. The player will have to build a camp, avoid starving and repel pesky bears dressed up as bikers. I really wanted the humour of the game to come through even in the UI for it.

I looked at cub scout badges and tried to give the icons a hand sewn feel. I think I should have continued this style into the actual drawings on the icons as it would have felt more in fitting with the game.

This is an example of the sketches I did before painting the finished icons. I did them one after another until I had the whole set sketched out so that I knew which icon I was going to be working on next.

Game Two:

I wanted the other game to be even more stylized than 'Dont Die'. I looked at the hit mobile title 'Temple Run' for influence and thought I could do something similar, just with a more interesting art style.

I wanted a sort of 'cut out paper' feel to this game, where the world is geometric looking but not as extreme as Little Big Planet for example.

Blank tile concept. I used this as a base for all the icons.

I started with some really rough line sketches once I had some ideas for different achievements that could feature in the game. I kept them very loose as I could figure out the drawing as I went along while painting it. This ended up making the process a little harder than the first batch of icons a I didn't have as good an idea what I was painting with these.

I think choosing this project was a good decision for me as it broadened my horizons a little. It got me out of my comfort zone and I ended up having more fun with it than with the character and environment projects.

I will definitely be introducing some UI elements into my FMP and hopefully using some UI work in a mobile oriented portfolio.


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page