top of page

FMP: Week 2

I have now really started designing the world and characters of the Golden Pear. I have been working on getting some designs down for the main characters and have started planning out a map.

This was really fun to do and helped me plan out the different areas of the world I will be creating. The designs for the areas on the map aren't final.

I might also add some titles to the areas to make it look more map like and less like a digital painting. I think having a big print out of the map on the wall or somewhere in the book would be a good way to present the project.

Here is some of the development work so far:

I kind of like where the main characters are at now, but I am sure they will change as the project matures and slowly drives me insane.

As you can see, I like to get all my ideas (however crappy) onto a piece of paper and then look at them afterwards. Then I can work the ones I like into more developed concepts and discard any that really do suck. Because this work is all on loose bits of paper and I am hardly the most organized person in the world, a lot of it goes missing after the initial drawing stage, so I wont be posting it all unfortunately.

As well as having research that relates to the characters in particular, I also have a general ‘good stuff’ folder where I have been putting anything that looks good and I could steal for the Golden Pear.

It's not very organised again, but I like just having a big dumping ground for reference and inspiration for a project like this.

I browse through this sometimes before starting my work and I’ve found it’s a good way to keep motivated and keep my work a consistent style. Making work that doest gel together nicely in a book would be a big problem as it would effect the quality of the final book.

Here is the 3D model I used as a base for the house interior. I approached it very differently to an actual 3D modeller would, as the final outcome of working in 3D for me isn’t the model but the render for me to paint over.

This means I can have NGONs and bad geometry galore! Which is perfect for me as I am rather terrible at 3D in general.

This quick and messy approach to 3D feels so much more natural to me and I think it gives me better results than when I have to meticulously model things accurately. (It also saves time!)


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page