top of page

FMP: Week 3

So far this week ive just been concepting some characters and environments for the first few places that will appear in the book. This area is a WIP currently called Fishville, a small island village located in the skull of a giant dead fish. The fishermen show their skill and experience by the size of the fish they wear on their heads.

I think the workflow of making a sketch for an area, making characters that live there and some kind of main character or Boss for that area gives pretty cool results. will also do an interior of the Boss' home/environment

I also found out that I have been working at too low resolution to print images and not have them really fuzzy and blurry.

That was really stupid of me I knew I should have checked that before starting but at least I didn’t discover it at the end of the project.

So all the new work will be in 300ppi resolution so it will look good in the book.

My computer isn’t very good so I usally work fairly small on Photoshop. Now that Im working at around 3x the resolution its gotten a little bit slower when I work but it isn’t too big a problem.

I haven't even started thinking about the poster, I will probably leave that until last so that I can use the characters Ive already got in it.

I will aim to do something like this poster by The Line studios, I really like the composition in this poster especially.

So I'm not behind at the moment (surprisingly) and Im enjoying my FMP so far, I think I need to do more prep work as I feel like I have a tendancy to just go with my first design and then change it until it works, instead of doing separate iterations for it.

Given that my book will consist mainly of finished pieces instead of development work this wont have a huge effect on the outcome but I will see if my designs are improved by creating more iterations before hand.


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page